UNIOSUN Management Visits New Commissioner of Police

The new Commissioner of Police in the State, Mrs. Abiodun Ige, on Tuesday, 7th May, 2019 received the Management team of Osun State University who paid a courtesy visit to the State Command in appreciation of the supports the University has been enjoying from the Police in past.

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Labo Popoola expressed gratitude to the State Command for coming to the aid of the University during the crises that engulfed the University in recent times. Professor Popoola, who noted and appreciated the efforts of the Oja-Oba Divisional Police Officer, SP Muraina Ayilara for his swift responses during the crisis, used the occasion to solicit for continued support of the State Command in maintaining peace and order in the University. Professor Popoola recalled that the twelve-year old University has been faced with leadership instabilities in the past due to incessant industrial crises that erupted in the institution in time past adding that peace has, since, returned to the institution in the past few months.

The Vice-Chancellor also used the occasion to welcome and congratulate the new Commissioner of Police on her recent posting to Osun State. Welcoming the management team to the State Police Headquarters, the Commissioner of Police, who noted that Osun State is one of the most peaceful States in the country despite the presence of many higher institutions of learning in the State, commended the Management of the University for the courtesy call adding that her command would do everything humanly possible to support the University and other institutions in the State in maintaining peace and order. The CP also commended the Vice-Chancellor for making the environment conducive for all by preventing students’ unrest in the institution.

On the University team are the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Labo Popoola, Mr Gafar Shittu, Registrar; Mr. Bolarinwa Feruke, Bursar; Mrs. Tinuade Adewale, University Librarian; and Mr. Adedayo Adeyemi, the PRO of the University. CP Abiodun Ige, DCP Tunde Adagunro, DCP Edward Egboka, ACP Lasisi Titilola of Ikire area Command, SP Ayilara Muraina and SP Folashade Odoro, the State Police Public Relation Officer are members of the Nigeria Police Force team in attendance at the meeting.



Leave a Reply